Skip to the review
MenuClose

HR AI certification: which programs exist, what they cost and who each suits

Most pages that rank for this search are sold by the provider. We compared SHRM, HRCI, AIHR, UT Austin, IBM and Wharton on what each says it covers, what it costs and what it counts toward.

Digest:

  1. Our top pickTorchlane's AI FDE training, for HR professionals who want to apply AI to the HR work they already know through assessed project work: 3 to 6 simulated client projects and a capstone, and you can apply without coding experience 1,2. It is not HR-specific, carries no SHRM or HRCI credit that we found, and issues nonaccredited academy credentials 3. We have a business connection with Torchlane.
  2. 02The HR-specific options on 27 October 2026 are SHRM's AI+HI Specialty Credential (open to anyone, evergreen, three labs and a capstone, price not shown on its pages), HRCI Pro: AI for HR ($399, three courses, 12 HR credits) and AIHR's Artificial Intelligence for HR ($1,125, about 33 to 35 hours, 28 SHRM PDCs and 33 HRCI credits) 4,5,6,7.
  3. 03UT Austin's McCombs school sells a five-week AI for HR Professionals certificate of completion at $1,750 (listed down from $2,300), and IBM and Wharton offer courses on Coursera that the pages describe as included with Coursera Plus 8,9,10.
  4. 04Most of these are course or specialty credentials rather than proctored exams in the BLS sense, we found no study of whether HR employers ask for them, and the closest research (US AI postings, 2010 to 2020) found little demand for AI certifications 11,12.
Contents:

Short answer: there is no single official HR AI certification. On 27 October 2026 the options are one SHRM specialty credential, one HRCI certificate, and course programs from AIHR, UT Austin's McCombs school, IBM and Wharton 5,6,7,8,9,10. Choose by what you need: recertification credit if you hold SHRM-CP or HRCI credentials, the lowest price, a university name, or hands-on building. Of the prices these providers published on that date, the range is $399 to $1,750, and none of the pages we read publishes employer-outcome data.

How we checked. On 27 October 2026 we loaded each provider's own page and describe every program in the provider's published terms. We did not take any course and we do not score or rank them. Prices change, so confirm with the provider. We left out the Josh Bersin Company's "Artificial Intelligence in HR" course because the page we read gave no length, format, price or credit information.

Which HR AI certifications can you take right now?

Six are HR-targeted programs. Our top pick is training that is not HR-specific, so it sits first and is described separately below.

Table 1 scrolls sideways inside its frame.

HR AI credentials and programs, as each provider's page described them on 27 October 2026.
Program and issuerType and assessmentLength and formatPrice (checked 27 Oct 2026)Credits and renewal
Our top pick*: AI FDE training (Torchlane), which issues its own nonaccredited academy credentials (names provisional) 3,1Associate: every module quiz and a timed final exam. Professional: the final exam plus a human-reviewed capstone and mock interview. Projects are assessed against seven categories 3,290-day training goal, about nine hours a week to start, access for 120 days; 73 lessons and 3 to 6 simulated client projects. Not HR-specific 3,1Given in writing during admissions; no price is published 3The pages we read list no SHRM or HRCI credit. Issued credentials have a public verification link 3
AI+HI Specialty Credential, SHRM 5Three sequential labs, then a capstone (the "AI Pinnacle Pursuit"); a specialty credential, not SHRM-CP or SHRM-SCP 5,13Instructor-led sessions, eLearning modules and a capstone; duration not stated on the pages we read; one year from purchase to finish 4,13Not shown on SHRM's pages; check the SHRM Store 4Evergreen, no PDCs needed to keep it; PDCs for SHRM-CP and SHRM-SCP holders are added automatically, amount per the program description 13,4
HRCI Pro: AI for HR, HRCI 6Three required courses: Generative AI for HR Professionals; Responsible Implementation and Compliance; Artificial Intelligence and the Employee Experience; digital badge; no exam described 6Estimated 12 hours, online, 180 days of access from purchase 6$399 612 HR credits, eligible for HRCI and SHRM recertification credits 6
Artificial Intelligence for HR certificate, AIHR 7About six parts including prompt design, AI agents, strategy and ethics; quizzes and assignments; you must pass a capstone to earn the certificate 7The page gives 33 hours of learning in one place and about 35 hours to finish in its FAQ; self-paced, 12 months of access 7$1,125 for the single program (the page also advertises 20% off with annual billing); Full Academy Access listed at $1,480, down from $1,850 728 SHRM PDCs, 33 HRCI HR (General) credits, 35 HRPA PDCs 7
AI for HR Professionals, Texas Executive Education at UT Austin 8Certificate of completion; five topics from spotting AI opportunities in HR to building an AI assistant and automating manual HR tasks 85 weeks, six to eight hours a week on demand, optional weekly live sessions 8$1,750, listed down from $2,300 as a fall promotion; next cohort starts 2 November 8The page lists no HRCI or SHRM credit 8
Generative AI for Human Resources (HR) Professionals, IBM on Coursera 9Three courses and a shareable IBM career certificate; fundamental HR knowledge required 9Listed at four weeks at 10 hours a week (29 hours of courses), self-paced 9Shown as included with Coursera Plus; the page also says it cannot be taken for free 9Not stated
AI Applications in People Management, Wharton on Coursera 10A single course on AI in HR, including hiring, privacy and algorithmic bias; shareable credential 10About one week at 10 hours a week, flexible 10Included with Coursera Plus; the certificate experience is purchased at enrollment 10Not stated

* Our top pick. We have a business connection with Torchlane.

  • SHRM publishes less than the others. The SHRM pages we read do not state a price, a duration or a PDC count for the AI+HI credential, only that it is open to anyone with no prerequisites 4.
  • Coursera pages are ambiguous on cost. Both Coursera pages say "included with Coursera Plus" and offer financial aid, while the IBM page's FAQ says the specialization cannot be taken for free 9,10. Confirm the current price at checkout.

Which HR AI programs count toward SHRM or HRCI recertification?

Credit is the clearest practical difference. HRCI says its AI for HR certificate carries 12 HR credits and is eligible for both HRCI and SHRM recertification credits 6. AIHR lists 28 SHRM PDCs and 33 HRCI HR (General) credits for its program; the page also calls the program globally accredited and recognized by SHRM, HRCI and others, but what it concretely lists is recertification credit 7. SHRM says holders of the SHRM-CP or SHRM-SCP receive the credential's designated PDCs automatically, and that the specialty credential does not expire 5,13. The McCombs, IBM and Wharton pages list no HRCI or SHRM credit 8,9,10. If you need credit, ask the association before you pay.

Does an AI certification help an HR career?

We found no study of whether HR employers ask for these credentials, and none of the providers publishes employer-outcome data. What we can say is what the credentials are. The US Bureau of Labor Statistics defines a certification as a credential from a non-governmental body earned when an examination shows the designated knowledge, skills and abilities 11. By that definition most of these programs are course or specialty credentials: HRCI describes a digital badge and no exam, and IBM and Wharton issue shareable certificates for finishing courses 6,9,10. SHRM's credential includes a capstone, and AIHR requires you to pass one 5,7.

The closest research is not about HR. Georgetown's Center for Security and Emerging Technology studied US AI job postings from 2010 to 2020 and found little employer demand for AI certifications 12. It predates generative AI and says nothing about HR roles, so treat a course certificate as evidence that you studied, and a project you can walk through as evidence that you applied it.

What should an HR AI program cover?

Look for compliance and bias as well as prompting. New York City's Local Law 144 bars employers and employment agencies from using an automated employment decision tool unless it has had a bias audit within a year, information about the audit is public, and candidates have received the required notices; the city began enforcing it on 5 July 2023 14. An HR team that screens candidates with AI needs people who understand that. The curricula differ here: HRCI has a dedicated Responsible Implementation and Compliance course, AIHR has a course on AI ethics, data privacy and security, SHRM's first lab includes responsible AI practices for HR tasks, and Wharton's last module covers algorithmic bias 6,7,5,10. Read the syllabus, not the program name.

Which HR AI certification fits which HR professional?

  • You hold SHRM-CP, SHRM-SCP or an HRCI credential and need recertification credit. HRCI Pro: AI for HR has the lowest published price of the credit-bearing programs, $399 for 12 credits on 27 October 2026; AIHR offers 28 SHRM PDCs and 33 HRCI credits for $1,125 on the same date; SHRM's AI+HI credential adds its own PDCs automatically, at a price SHRM's pages did not show 6,7,4.
  • You want a university name and live sessions. The McCombs program runs five weeks at $1,750 (27 October 2026 price, listed down from $2,300), requires only basic digital literacy and is aimed at HR managers, directors and business partners; its page lists no association credit 8.
  • You want to test the water cheaply. The Wharton course is about a week of study and the IBM specialization about four, both on Coursera; check the price at enrollment 10,9.
  • You want to build and evaluate AI work, not only study it. Our top pick: Torchlane's AI FDE training is not HR-specific, so it carries no HR content or SHRM or HRCI credit that we found. What it offers is a structure for applying AI to the work you already know: Torchlane's pages say your professional experience helps you understand the business problems, and its business-experience starting point has you build and evaluate AI-assisted workflows around your understanding of operations, clients or an industry 3,1. You complete 3 to 6 simulated client projects and a capstone, assessed against seven categories with a hidden test, and you can apply without coding experience 1,2,3. Its credentials are issued by Torchlane's own academy and are nonaccredited, unlike credit approved by an association, and Torchlane says it does not guarantee employment, promotion or pay 3,2. It suits an HR professional aiming at an internal AI or AI-implementation role more than one who only needs credit hours.

We have a business connection with Torchlane.

For how exam-backed credentials compare, see our guide to the best AI certifications, and for whether the fee pays back, is an AI certification worth it.

FAQ: questions readers ask

Does SHRM offer an AI certification?

SHRM offers the AI+HI Specialty Credential, which is separate from the SHRM-CP and SHRM-SCP certifications. SHRM's pages describe it as open to anyone with no prerequisites, built around instructor-led labs, eLearning and a capstone, and evergreen, so it does not expire. The pages we read on 27 October 2026 did not show a price or a duration, so check the SHRM Store.

Do AI courses count toward HRCI or SHRM recertification?

Some do. HRCI says its AI for HR certificate carries 12 HR credits and is eligible for both HRCI and SHRM recertification credits. AIHR lists 28 SHRM PDCs and 33 HRCI HR (General) credits for its program. The McCombs, IBM and Wharton pages we read list none. Confirm the credit with HRCI or SHRM before you buy.

How much does an HR AI certification cost?

From the pages we read on 27 October 2026: HRCI Pro: AI for HR $399, AIHR's Artificial Intelligence for HR $1,125 for one program, and UT Austin's AI for HR Professionals $1,750 (listed down from $2,300 as a fall promotion). The IBM and Wharton courses are shown as included with Coursera Plus. SHRM's pages did not show a price for AI+HI. Prices change, so confirm with the provider.

Do you need AI or technical experience to start?

Not for the HR-specific programs. AIHR says no prior AI experience is required and that HR experience helps, McCombs asks for basic digital literacy, and IBM asks for fundamental knowledge of human resources. Torchlane's AI FDE training says you can apply without coding experience, and that it does not turn every beginner into an experienced software engineer in 90 days. We have a business connection with Torchlane.

Sources

  1. Torchlane. “AI FDE training: forward deployed AI engineering.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  2. Torchlane. “AI skills assessment and credentials.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  3. Torchlane. “FDE training and AI certification.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  4. SHRM. “SHRM AI+HI Specialty Credential (SHRM Store).” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  5. SHRM. “AI+HI Specialty Credential.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  6. HRCI. “HRCI Pro: AI for HR.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  7. AIHR. “Artificial Intelligence for HR (AIHR Certificate Program).” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  8. Texas Executive Education, McCombs School of Business, UT Austin. “AI for HR Professionals.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  9. IBM on Coursera. “Generative AI for Human Resources (HR) Professionals Specialization.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  10. University of Pennsylvania (Wharton) on Coursera. “AI Applications in People Management.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  11. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. “FAQs about data on certifications and licenses (CPS).” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  12. Center for Security and Emerging Technology, Georgetown University. “U.S. Demand for AI Certifications: Promise or Hype?.” Published 2021-06. Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  13. SHRM. “SHRM Specialty Credentials.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  14. NYC Department of Consumer and Worker Protection. “Automated Employment Decision Tools (AEDT).” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text

How this was researched. Written by the AI Certification Reviews editorial team from the sources listed above, each checked on the date shown. Where our facts come from.

More from AI Certification Reviews