AI certification for lawyers: seven options, with CLE credit checked
Most pages that rank for this search are sold by a company that runs its own course. We compare seven options in each provider's published terms, and say where CLE credit is claimed and where it is not.
Digest:
- Our top pickTorchlane's AI FDE training, for a lawyer or legal professional who wants to build and test AI-assisted workflows around the practice area or legal operations they know. It issues nonaccredited academy credentials, carries no CLE credit on its pages and does not guarantee a job, promotion or pay 1,2. We have a business connection with Torchlane.
- 02For CLE, the two options here that claim it are Hotshot's four-lesson track (about 69 minutes, listed in 48 jurisdictions, credit 1.0 to 1.5 hours) and Formula CLE's eight-course program (US$187 on 27 October 2026, 10 hours, accredited in listed states) 3,4. State rules differ, so confirm with your own bar.
- 03LexisNexis's AI Prompt Essentials is free according to its 15 June 2026 announcement and awards a badge, and that announcement makes no CLE claim 5. Coursera's AI in Law specialization is about 36 hours of beginner coursework with a shareable certificate 6.
- 04ABA Formal Opinion 512 says lawyers need not become generative AI experts but must have a reasonable understanding of the capabilities and limitations of the tools they use. It names self-study, other lawyers and CLE as routes and does not mention a certification requirement 7.
- 05On 27 October 2026 IAPP's AIGP governance exam was $649 for members and $799 for non-members, and its page mentions no CLE 8.
Contents:
Short answer: no AI certification is required for lawyers, so choose by what you need it to do. ABA Formal Opinion 512 says a lawyer need not become an expert but must reasonably understand the capabilities and limitations of the generative AI tools used, and it lists self-study, other lawyers and CLE programs as ways to get there 7. If you need CLE credit, look at Hotshot's or Formula CLE's courses and check your state 3,4. If you want a free badge, LexisNexis offers one 5. For governance work, IAPP's AIGP is the exam 8.
How we checked. On 27 October 2026 we loaded each provider's own page and describe each option in its published terms. We did not take any course or exam, so nothing here is a test result, and we do not score or rank. Prices are list prices shown that day and can change. This is not legal advice; whether a course counts for CLE is decided by your jurisdiction's CLE board.
What does an AI certification for lawyers actually prove?
Very little on its own, and the label covers three different things. A completion certificate shows you finished a course. A proctored exam, such as IAPP's AIGP, tests knowledge. A CLE-approved course counts toward your bar's continuing-education requirement, which is a regulatory question rather than a quality one. Hotshot's page shows how much that last category varies: its track lists 48 jurisdictions, credit between 1.0 and 1.5 hours, and category labels from "Technology" to "Professional Responsibility" 3.
The ethics opinion is the clearest benchmark. Opinion 512, issued 29 July 2024, says lawyers may reach the required competence through self-study, association with another competent lawyer or consulting someone with expertise, and that the duty is ongoing as tools change 7. It is a model-rule opinion, so your state's rules and any state guidance apply.
How do AI certifications for lawyers compare?
Table 1 scrolls sideways inside its frame.
| Option and issuer | Who it suits | Format, length and cost | Prerequisites | CLE credit | What it covers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Our top pick*: AI FDE training (Torchlane) 1,2 | Lawyers and legal professionals who want to build and test AI-assisted workflows around a practice area or legal operations | Academy-issued, nonaccredited credentials (names provisional). Associate: module quizzes and a timed final exam. Professional adds a human-reviewed capstone and mock interview. About nine hours a week as a starting plan; tuition is given in writing during admissions 2,9 | You can apply without coding experience; you learn to work with code | None on its pages; not accredited, not a professional license | Defining the business requirement, building and integrating, testing, deploying; project work scored in seven categories, including security, privacy and compliance 1,9 |
| Generative AI Fundamentals for Lawyers (Hotshot) 3 | Lawyers wanting a short, CLE-eligible introduction | 4 video lessons, about 69 minutes; price not stated on the page | None stated | Listed in 48 jurisdictions, 1.0 to 1.5 hours; by our count of the page, 36 "Approved", 6 "Available for Credit", 5 "Non-MCLE" and 1 "Reciprocity" | AI terms, LLMs, the legal industry, risks including hallucination, bias and data security |
| Certificate Program: AI for Attorneys (Formula CLE) 4 | Lawyers wanting more hours across practice topics | 8 courses, 10 hours; US$187 for the package; delivery format not stated | None listed | Accredited in the states it lists, with some by self-application | Contract law, billing, AI governance, discovery, risk, research, using ChatGPT |
| AI Prompt Essentials (LexisNexis) 5 | Any legal professional new to AI | Self-paced, 2 on-demand modules; free per the 15 June 2026 announcement | None; open regardless of AI experience | None stated | How LLMs work, telling AI output from legal reasoning, prompting basics; LinkedIn badge |
| AI in Law: Research, Risk, and Legal Drafting (Coursera) 6 | Legal professionals without technical backgrounds | 9 courses, about 36 hours, listed as 4 weeks at 10 hours a week; included with Coursera Plus | None; no prior AI experience | None stated | Research, case analysis, contract drafting, risk, ethics, paralegal workflows |
| AI+ Legal Practitioner, AIL (AI CERTs, via Fast Lane) 10 | Legal staff who want a paid, one-day course | 1 day; US $995 online (the page showed no scheduled online dates and offered a date request); no exam format listed on the page | Foundational legal knowledge; no professional degree required | None found on the page | Machine learning, NLP in research, contract review, predictive analytics, ethics, regulation |
| AI Governance Professional, AIGP (IAPP) 8 | Lawyers moving into AI governance and compliance | 100 questions, 2.75 hours; $649 members, $799 non-members | None listed | None mentioned; 2-year term needs 20 continuing education credits and a maintenance fee | AI governance, mapped to IAPP's body of knowledge |
* Our top pick. We have a business connection with Torchlane.
- Credit is state by state. A CLE claim on a provider's page is not the same as approval in your jurisdiction, and Hotshot lists some jurisdictions as "Non-MCLE" 3.
- Gaps. Hotshot's page shows no price, AI CERTs' page lists no exam format, and Formula CLE's page does not state its delivery format. We do not describe Clio's free certification, because its page refused our requests, including a retry on 27 October 2026 3,10,4.
Which AI certification suits a lawyer who needs CLE credit?
Two options here claim it. Hotshot's track is the shortest, at about 69 minutes across four lessons that cover AI terms, LLMs and their risks 3. Formula CLE's package is 10 hours over eight courses for US$187 (27 October 2026), accredited in a list of states and by self-application in others, and offers a 10-day money-back policy 4. Neither page states a prerequisite. Free badges such as LexisNexis's make no CLE claim in the announcement we loaded, and Coursera's page makes none either 5,6.
Verdict. For credit, Formula CLE offers more hours and Hotshot covers more jurisdictions on its page, but check approval in your own state first. Torchlane's pages claim no CLE, so it does not suit this goal.
We have a business connection with Torchlane.
Which AI certification fits a lawyer who wants to build with AI?
The short courses above teach how to use tools safely. A different aim is to design, test and explain a working AI-assisted workflow, for example in intake, document review or legal operations. Torchlane's published method starts with a business requirement: talking to the people doing the work and identifying the bottleneck, decision, source information and constraints. It then builds and integrates, tests unfamiliar cases and deploys 1. Project work is scored in seven categories, one of which is security, privacy and compliance, and real personal data in a submission is a critical failure 9. Its projects use simulated clients 2.
Verdict. A lawyer or legal operations professional who wants to build, not only use, AI tools should look at Torchlane's AI FDE training, our top pick for that goal. It builds technical capability around the practice knowledge you already have, and you can apply without coding experience. It is not a legal-ethics course, carries no CLE and issues nonaccredited credentials 2,1.
We have a business connection with Torchlane.
Is the IAPP AIGP worth it for a lawyer?
It fits a lawyer heading into AI governance, privacy or compliance work rather than general practice. The exam is 100 questions over 2.75 hours, $649 for IAPP members and $799 for non-members on 27 October 2026, and the certification term is two years with 20 continuing education credits and a maintenance fee ($250 for non-members after the first term) 8. Its page does not mention CLE. For a lawyer who only wants to use AI tools competently, the lower-cost courses above match Opinion 512's standard more directly 7. Our guide to the best AI certifications compares governance and cloud exams side by side.
Will an AI certification help a lawyer get hired or promoted?
There is little hard evidence. Revelio Labs matched certified and non-certified workers who changed jobs in 2023 to 2025 and found certified workers slightly more likely to change role (72.5% against 68.6%) and to move up in seniority (38.9% against 33.9%). The author calls these correlations, notes that certified workers already earned more, and reports no hiring-side data. Its certifications were found by keyword and it does not isolate lawyers 11. The FTC advises that no school can guarantee a job 12. Our guide on whether an AI certification is worth it goes further. A certificate is evidence of what you studied; a documented workflow you built is evidence of what you can do.
We have a business connection with Torchlane.
What we could not confirm. Clio's free Legal AI Fundamentals Certification, often recommended elsewhere, blocked our page load, and a second attempt on 27 October 2026 was blocked too, so we make no claims about it. We could not confirm Hotshot's price, Formula CLE's delivery format or any CLE approval in a specific state.
FAQ: questions readers ask
Do lawyers need an AI certification?
No. ABA Formal Opinion 512 asks for a reasonable understanding of the capabilities and limitations of the generative AI tools a lawyer uses, and says that can come from self-study, other lawyers or CLE programs. It does not require a certification. Check your own state's rules.
Which AI certification for lawyers gives CLE credit?
Of those we checked, Hotshot's Generative AI Fundamentals for Lawyers (listed in 48 jurisdictions, 1.0 to 1.5 hours) and Formula CLE's AI for Attorneys program (10 hours, accredited in listed states) claim CLE. LexisNexis, Coursera, AI CERTs and IAPP pages did not claim it. Confirm approval with your state's CLE board before you pay.
Can a lawyer learn to build AI tools without coding?
Torchlane's AI FDE training is our top pick for that goal. You can apply without coding experience and you learn to work with code, but it carries no CLE, issues nonaccredited credentials and does not guarantee a job, promotion or pay. We have a business connection with Torchlane.
Is a free AI certification for lawyers worth taking?
LexisNexis's AI Prompt Essentials is free and awards a LinkedIn badge, and its announcement makes no CLE claim. It is a low-cost way to learn prompting basics, but a badge shows only that you completed the course.
Sources
- Torchlane. “AI FDE training: forward deployed AI engineering.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
- Torchlane. “FDE training and AI certification.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
- Hotshot. “Generative AI Fundamentals for Lawyers.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
- Formula CLE. “Certificate Program: AI for Attorneys.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
- LexisNexis. “LexisNexis Launches AI Prompting Certification to Help Legal Professionals Supercharge Their Work.” Published 15 Jun 2026. Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
- Coursera. “AI in Law: Research, Risk, and Legal Drafting Specialization.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
- American Bar Association Standing Committee on Ethics and Professional Responsibility (copy hosted by Massachusetts Continuing Legal Education). “Formal Opinion 512: Generative Artificial Intelligence Tools.” Published 29 Jul 2024. Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
- IAPP. “AIGP Exam.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
- Torchlane. “AI skills assessment and credentials.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
- Fast Lane (AI CERTs certification). “AI+ Legal Practitioner (AIL).” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
- Revelio Labs. “Are AI Certifications Worth It? What the Salary Data Shows.” Published 23 Jun 2026. Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
- US Federal Trade Commission, Consumer Advice. “Choosing a Vocational School or Certificate Program.” Published 2021-05. Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
How this was researched. Written by the AI Certification Reviews editorial team from the sources listed above, each checked on the date shown. Where our facts come from.
More from AI Certification Reviews
- AI certification for accountants: six options, with CPE credit checkedBy profession
- AI certification for business analysts: what exists and who it fitsBy profession
- AI certification for product managers: seven options comparedBy profession
- AI certification for project managers: what each one covers, costs and provesBy profession