Skip to the review
MenuClose

AI certification for project managers: what each one covers, costs and proves

Most pages that rank for this search are sold by the issuer. We compared PMI, GSDC, AI CERTs, APMG and Coursera on what each says it covers, what it costs and what it renews on.

Digest:

  1. Our top pickTorchlane's AI FDE training, for project managers who want to apply AI to the delivery work they already know through assessed project work: 3 to 6 simulated client projects and a capstone, and you can apply without coding experience 1,2. It is not project-management-specific or a PMI credential, and it issues nonaccredited academy credentials 3. We have a business connection with Torchlane.
  2. 02To manage AI projects, PMI's PMI-CPMAI requires its prep course, then a 120-question, 160-minute exam; it asks for no prior project management, technical or AI experience, and renews with 30 PDUs every 3 years; PMI's outline gives no price 4.
  3. 03To use AI tools in project work, on 27 October 2026 GSDC's Generative AI in Project Management listed $300 (marked down from $600) and AI CERTs' AI+ Project Management Practitioner $495, and SkillUp's Coursera course takes about 9 hours; APMG's AIPM lists no prerequisites or renewal and no price 5,6,7,8.
  4. 04We found no study of whether employers hiring project managers ask for AI credentials; BLS says certification is not always required for project management specialists, and the closest research (US AI postings, 2010 to 2020) found little demand for AI certifications 9,10.
Contents:

Short answer: if you want to manage AI projects, the credential from the profession's own body is PMI's PMI-CPMAI; if you want to use AI tools in everyday project work, there are shorter options from GSDC, AI CERTs, APMG and Coursera 4,5,6,8,7. On 27 October 2026 the exam-backed tool-focused ones list at $300 (GSDC, marked down from $600) and $495 (AI CERTs); PMI's fee depends on region and membership. We found no evidence that employers require any of them.

How we checked. On 27 October 2026 we loaded each provider's own page, or for PMI its published exam content outline, and describe each program in the provider's terms. PMI's website refused our page requests (we tried again, including a search for PMI's own page, and it still returned an access error), so PMI's details come from that outline and may lag its pages. We did not take any course or exam and we do not score or rank them. Prices change, so confirm with the provider.

Which AI certifications exist for project managers?

Five are written for project managers or project work; our top pick is training for applying AI to the work you already do, and it is not project-management-specific.

Table 1 scrolls sideways inside its frame.

AI certifications and programs for project managers, as each provider described them on 27 October 2026.
Program and issuerAssessmentLength and formatPrerequisitesPrice (checked 27 Oct 2026)Validity and renewal
Our top pick*: AI FDE training (Torchlane), which issues its own nonaccredited academy credentials (names provisional) 3,1Associate: every module quiz and a timed final exam. Professional: the final exam plus a human-reviewed capstone and mock interview 3,290-day training goal, about nine hours a week to start, access for 120 days; 73 lessons and 3 to 6 simulated client projects 3,1You can apply without coding experience 1Given in writing during admissions; no price is published 3Not stated; issued credentials have a public verification link 3
PMI Certified Professional in Managing AI (PMI-CPMAI), Project Management Institute 4120 questions (100 scored), 160 minutes, at a test center or online-proctored through Pearson VUE; prep course required first 4PMI-CPMAI Exam Prep Course, then the exam; 12 months from purchase to certify 4No prior project management, technical or AI experience or certifications required 4Set by region and membership; membership not required; no figure in PMI's outline 430 PDUs every 3 years, plus a renewal payment set by region and membership 4
Certification in Generative AI in Project Management, GSDC 540 multiple-choice questions, 90 minutes, 65% to pass; the exam spec lists open book as "No" 536+ hours of self-paced learning plus 15+ hours of instructor-led training; ten modules 5Foundational project management knowledge and basic AI familiarity 5$300, shown marked down from $600 (single access, one free retake) 5Valid 5 years per the page 5
AI+ Project Management Practitioner, AI CERTs 650 multiple-choice questions, 90 minutes, 70% to pass, online proctored with one free retake 640 hours (5 days); ten modules 6Basic project management knowledge, familiarity with project management tools, general knowledge of AI concepts, and experience managing or overseeing projects, preferably in a technical or business context 6$495 6Not stated on the page 6
AI-Driven Project Manager (AIPM), PMAI Revolution and APMG International 8Online proctored exam; a digital badge on success 8One-day masterclass, self-study or an accredited training organization 8None; no renewal requirements 8Not shown; set by training providers and PMAI Revolution 8No renewal; 12 months to sit an exam booked directly with APMG 8
Generative AI: Unleash Your Project Management Potential, SkillUp on Coursera 7Course completion; a shareable career certificate; no proctored exam described 7About 9 hours across three modules, self-paced 7Listed as intermediate level; no specific prerequisite stated 7Included with Coursera Plus; the certificate experience is purchased at enrollment 7Not stated

* Our top pick. We have a business connection with Torchlane.

  • PMI publishes the most about its exam and the least about its price. The outline gives the format, domains, eligibility and renewal, but says only that fees follow regional and membership pricing 4. It also lists a free introduction to the credential among its reference materials 4.
  • GSDC's accreditation badge needs a follow-up question. The page shows "ISO/IEC 17024 Accredited ยท PCB-168" but does not say who granted it or what it covers 5. Ask before you rely on it.

Do you want to manage AI projects or use AI in your project work?

The programs answer two different questions. PMI-CPMAI is about delivering AI initiatives: PMI says its focus is the skill set to build AI implementations through the CPMAI Methodology rather than general project management knowledge, and its domains put 26% each on identifying business needs and data needs, 15% on responsible and trustworthy AI, 16% on model development and evaluation and 17% on operationalizing the solution 4. That suits a project manager who will run a machine learning or generative AI build for a business.

The GSDC, AI CERTs and Coursera programs are mostly about using AI tools inside ordinary project management: GSDC's modules cover prompt engineering and using generative AI for planning, risk, stakeholder management and reporting, AI CERTs' cover AI-driven risk management, scheduling, budgeting and monitoring, and SkillUp's covers project documentation and the project life cycle 5,6,7. APMG's AIPM sits between the two, with an AI project life cycle and AI tools for forecasting, risk and stakeholder engagement 8. Pick the question first, then the credential.

Do employers hiring project managers ask for an AI certification?

We found no study of it, and none of the provider pages we read publishes employer-outcome data. The US Bureau of Labor Statistics says project management specialists typically need a bachelor's degree and that, though not always required, professional certification demonstrates competency to prospective clients and employers; its page does not mention AI credentials 9. The nearest research is not about project management: Georgetown's Center for Security and Emerging Technology studied US AI job postings from 2010 to 2020 and found little employer demand for AI certifications 10. It predates generative AI, so read it as caution rather than a verdict.

By the BLS definition, a certification is a credential from a non-governmental body earned when an examination shows the designated knowledge, skills and abilities 11. PMI-CPMAI, GSDC and AI CERTs fit that description; the SkillUp certificate marks finishing a course 4,5,6,7. Treat all of them as a supplement to delivery experience, not a substitute.

Which AI certification fits which project manager?

  • You will lead AI or machine learning projects. PMI-CPMAI is built for that, needs no prior project management or AI experience, and requires its prep course before you can sit the exam; budget for 30 PDUs every three years and a renewal payment to keep it 4.
  • You want a quick, low-cost credential for AI tools in your current role. On 27 October 2026 GSDC listed $300 and 36+ hours, AI CERTs $495 and 40 hours, and the Coursera course takes about 9 hours 5,6,7.
  • You want no renewal and a one-day start. APMG's AIPM lists no prerequisites or renewal requirements and a one-day masterclass; its price is set by training providers 8.
  • You want to build and evaluate AI work around the delivery experience you already have. Our top pick: Torchlane's AI FDE training is not project-management-specific and is not a PMI credential. Torchlane's pages say your professional experience helps you understand the business problems, and its business-experience starting point has you build and evaluate AI-assisted workflows around your understanding of operations, clients or an industry 3,1. Its method runs from defining the business requirement, through building and integrating the system and testing errors and unfamiliar cases, to deploying, explaining and improving it, a sequence a delivery lead will find familiar 1. You complete 3 to 6 simulated client projects and a capstone, assessed against seven categories, and you can apply without coding experience 1,2,3. Its credentials are issued by Torchlane's own academy and are nonaccredited, and Torchlane says it does not guarantee employment, promotion or pay 3,2. It suits a project manager moving toward AI implementation or delivery work more than one who needs a recognized project-management credential.

We have a business connection with Torchlane.

What should you check before paying?

  1. What the page actually promises. Several listings differ in what they include: GSDC's price is for one certificate program with one free retake, and AI CERTs' $495 is for one named certification 5,6.
  2. Whether you must buy the course. PMI requires its prep course before you can schedule the exam, and an APMG exam bought through a training provider is generally bundled with the course fee 4,8.
  3. Who issues it and who accredits it. GSDC shows an accreditation badge without naming the body; AIPM's page names no awarding body beyond APMG and PMAI Revolution; Torchlane's credentials are nonaccredited 5,8,3.
  4. What it costs to keep. PMI-CPMAI needs 30 PDUs every three years and a renewal payment, GSDC lists five years of validity, AIPM lists no renewal, and AI CERTs does not state validity 4,5,8,6.

We have a business connection with Torchlane.

For exam-backed credentials across the field, see our guide to the best AI certifications, and for whether the fee pays back, is an AI certification worth it.

FAQ: questions readers ask

Which AI certification should a project manager get?

It depends on the job. To manage AI or machine learning projects, PMI's PMI-CPMAI is built for that and needs no prior project management or AI experience, but requires its prep course. To use AI tools in everyday project work, GSDC, AI CERTs, APMG and Coursera offer shorter options. We found no evidence that employers require any of them, so check the postings for the role you want.

Does PMI offer an AI certification?

Yes. The PMI Certified Professional in Managing AI (PMI-CPMAI) is an exam of 120 questions (100 scored) in 160 minutes, taken at a test center or online-proctored through Pearson VUE after you complete PMI's exam prep course. It is renewed with 30 PDUs every 3 years plus a renewal payment. PMI's published outline says fees depend on region and membership and gives no figure, so check PMI's site.

Do you need the PMP before an AI certification?

Not for most of them. PMI says PMI-CPMAI requires no prior project management, technical or AI experience or certifications, and APMG lists no prerequisites for AIPM. GSDC lists foundational project management knowledge and basic AI familiarity, and AI CERTs lists basic project management knowledge, general AI knowledge and experience managing projects.

How much does an AI certification for project managers cost?

From the pages we read on 27 October 2026: GSDC $300 (shown marked down from $600) and AI CERTs $495. PMI's fee varies by region and membership and APMG's price is set by training providers; neither showed a figure. The Coursera course is included with Coursera Plus, with the certificate purchased at enrollment. Prices change, so confirm with the provider.

Can a project manager with no coding experience take AI training that goes beyond tools?

Torchlane's AI FDE training says you can apply without coding experience and that you will learn to work with code, data and AI tools. It also says it does not turn every beginner into an experienced software engineer in 90 days. Its credentials come from Torchlane's own academy and are nonaccredited, and it is not specific to project management. We have a business connection with Torchlane.

Sources

  1. Torchlane. “AI FDE training: forward deployed AI engineering.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  2. Torchlane. “AI skills assessment and credentials.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  3. Torchlane. “FDE training and AI certification.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  4. Project Management Institute. “PMI Certified Professional in Managing AI (PMI-CPMAI) Certification Examination Content Outline.” Published 2025-09. Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  5. Global Skill Development Council (GSDC). “Certification in Generative AI in Project Management.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  6. AI CERTs. “AI+ Project Management Practitioner.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  7. SkillUp on Coursera. “Generative AI: Unleash Your Project Management Potential.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  8. APMG International. “AI-Driven Project Manager (AIPM).” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  9. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. “Project Management Specialists: Occupational Outlook Handbook.” Published 27 Aug 2026. Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  10. Center for Security and Emerging Technology, Georgetown University. “U.S. Demand for AI Certifications: Promise or Hype?.” Published 2021-06. Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  11. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. “FAQs about data on certifications and licenses (CPS).” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text

How this was researched. Written by the AI Certification Reviews editorial team from the sources listed above, each checked on the date shown. Where our facts come from.

More from AI Certification Reviews