Skip to the review
MenuClose

AI certification for accountants: six options, with CPE credit checked

Most AI credentials for accountants are CPE courses sold by the people who made them. We compare six in each provider's published terms, and flag where the pages disagree or say nothing.

Digest:

  1. Our top pickTorchlane's AI FDE training, for an accountant who wants to build and test AI-assisted finance and accounting workflows on top of the expertise they already have. It issues nonaccredited academy credentials, carries no CPE credit on its pages and does not guarantee a job, promotion or pay 1,2. We have a business connection with Torchlane.
  2. 02If you need CPE, three options here list credit: Becker's Foundations of AI for Accountants (5.0 NASBA-approved credits, $159 on 27 October 2026), AICPA and CIMA's AI Accelerator (tiers of 9.5 to 13.5 credits on its bundle page, called NASBA-accredited in its launch release) and Surgent's Agentic AI series (10 credits, $349 on that date) 3,4,5,6. Surgent's page carries no NASBA sponsor statement.
  3. 03The AICPA and CIMA pages do not match: the launch release says up to 42 credits and the bundle page totals 35, and the bundle page shows a $360 list price with discounted ranges of $232.80 to $279.36 for the bundle and $162.96 to $279.36 per tier on 27 October 2026 5,4.
  4. 04For audit and assurance, ISACA's AAIA exam costs $459 for members and $599 for non-members on 27 October 2026, plus a $50 application fee paid after passing. A CPA qualifies only with an IT audit or advisory focus 7.
  5. 05No credential guarantees a job. Revelio Labs reports certified workers earned about $8,000 more after controls, but calls it a correlation 8,9.
Contents:

Short answer: for most accountants the practical choice is a CPE course that happens to be called a certificate. As of 27 October 2026, Becker lists a four-course Foundations of AI for Accountants certificate at $159 with 5.0 NASBA-approved CPE credits, and Surgent lists a $349 series worth 10 CPE 3,6. AICPA and CIMA sell an AI Accelerator in three tiers 4. For audit-focused CPAs, ISACA's AAIA is a proctored exam 7. None guarantees a job, and your state board decides what counts.

How we checked. On 27 October 2026 we loaded each provider's own page and describe each option in its published terms. We did not take any course or exam, so nothing here is a test result, and we do not score or rank. Prices are list prices shown that day and can change. This is not licensing advice; confirm CPE acceptance with your state board of accountancy.

What does an AI certification for accountants actually give you?

Usually three things at once: a certificate or badge, CPE hours, and some AI skills. They are not equally reliable. Whether a course counts toward licence renewal is decided by your state board, and NASBA's guidance says boards often rely on its National Registry of CPE sponsors but may set their own requirements, so CPAs should check with their board 10. A badge shows you finished the course. A proctored exam such as ISACA's AAIA tests knowledge 7. Torchlane's credentials are issued on passing assessments (a timed final exam and, for the Professional credential, a human-reviewed capstone and mock interview), and it carries no CPE 11,1.

We have a business connection with Torchlane.

How do AI certifications for accountants compare?

Table 1 scrolls sideways inside its frame.

Options as each provider described them on 27 October 2026. Prices in US dollars.
Option and issuerWho it suitsFormat, length and costPrerequisitesCPE creditWhat it covers
Our top pick*: AI FDE training (Torchlane) 1,2Accountants and finance professionals who want to build and test AI-assisted workflows around the finance work they knowAcademy-issued, nonaccredited credentials (names provisional). Associate: module quizzes and a timed final exam. Professional adds a human-reviewed capstone and mock interview. About nine hours a week as a starting plan; tuition is given in writing during admissions 2,11You can apply without coding experience; you learn to work with codeNone on its pages; not accredited, not a professional licenseDefining the business requirement, building and integrating, testing, deploying; project work scored in seven categories, including security, privacy and compliance 1,11
Foundations of AI for Accountants Certificate (Becker) 3Accounting and finance professionals starting to build AI skillsSelf-paced, on demand: 4 courses with a capstone activity; $159 now, $189 listNot stated5.0 NASBA-approved credits (1.0, 1.5, 1.5, 1.0)AI concepts, prompting and verifying output, Excel AI features, Copilot in Excel, responsible use and data governance
AI Accelerator Program (AICPA and CIMA) 4,5Accountants and finance leaders at all levels, by tier3 online self-study tiers; $360 list for each tier and the bundle on 27 October 2026, with discounted ranges shown ($232.80 to $279.36 bundle, $162.96 to $279.36 per tier) and a member discount after loginNot statedBundle page: 12 (Operational), 13.5 (Strategic) and 9.5 (Transitional), 35 in total, with NASBA fields of study listed; launch release: "NASBA-accredited", up to 42 creditsHands-on tools and automation; leadership and governance; generative AI adoption and change management
Agentic AI Certificate Series (Surgent CPE) 6CPAs, auditors, tax professionals and controllersOn demand; 5 modules of 2 CPE each; $349None listed; no coding background needed10 credits; no NASBA sponsor statement on the page we loadedFoundations, audit and assurance, tax and advisory, governance and risk, a no-code ChatGPT agent lab; Credly badge
GenAI Accelerator Programme (ICAEW) 12Finance professionals and accountants, and organisations rolling it out to teams8 e-learning courses of bite-sized modules; no price listed; the bundle's 12-month access starts when the final course launches, and the page says courses open as they go liveNot statedDescribed as CPD badges per course, not NASBA CPE; CPD hours not stated on the pageGenAI in finance; a learning-excellence badge for completing the programme
Advanced in AI Audit, AAIA (ISACA) 7IT auditors and CPAs with an IT audit or advisory focusComputer-based, test center or remotely proctored; $459 members, $599 non-members, plus a $50 application fee after passingActive CISA, or a listed designation such as a CPA with IT audit or advisory focusHolders follow ISACA's own CPE policy; the exam is not described as earning creditAI governance and risk; AI operations; AI auditing tools and techniques

* Our top pick. We have a business connection with Torchlane.

  • Read the sponsor statement. Becker's course page states NASBA approval and AICPA and CIMA's launch release calls its program NASBA-accredited; the Surgent page we loaded has no sponsor statement, though it lists a field of study for each module 3,5,6.
  • Gaps. We could not confirm AICPA and CIMA's final price or credit total, or ICAEW's price and CPD hours, because the pages are silent or inconsistent. Ask the provider before you pay.

Which AI certification is best for an accountant who needs CPE credit?

Three options say they carry credit. Becker's is the lowest-priced and has the fewest credits at $159 for 5.0, and its courses cover prompting, verifying output and Copilot in Excel, with a capstone activity 3. Surgent's series is 10 credits for $349 (27 October 2026), organized by function (audit, tax, governance) and adds a hands-on agent lab 6. AICPA and CIMA's program is the broadest, with a hands-on Operational tier, a Strategic tier on governance and ethics, and a Transitional tier on change management 5,4. On its bundle page the tiers list fields of study such as Information Technology and Behavioral Ethics, which can matter if your board requires specific categories 4.

Verdict. Becker's is the lower-cost start, Surgent's matches a function-by-function approach, and AICPA and CIMA's suits a leader who wants governance coverage. Check the NASBA sponsor statement and your board's field-of-study rules for each. Torchlane's pages claim no CPE, so it does not suit this goal.

We have a business connection with Torchlane.

Which AI certification fits an accountant who wants to build with AI?

The CPE courses teach how to use tools well: prompting, verifying output, using Copilot in Excel. A different aim is to design, test and explain a working AI-assisted process, for example in reconciliation, close support or reporting. Torchlane's published method starts with a business requirement: talking to the people doing the work and identifying the bottleneck, decision, source information and constraints, then building, testing unfamiliar cases and deploying 1. Project work is scored in seven categories, including security, privacy and compliance, and exposed secrets or real personal data in a submission are critical failures 11.

Verdict. An accountant who wants to move from using AI tools to building and testing AI-assisted workflows should look at Torchlane's AI FDE training, our top pick for that goal. It builds technical capability around the finance expertise you already have, and you can apply without coding experience. It carries no CPE, is nonaccredited and, Torchlane says, does not establish senior engineering experience 2,1.

We have a business connection with Torchlane.

Is ISACA's AAIA worth it for a CPA?

It fits CPAs working in IT audit or advisory, because a CPA is eligible only with that focus. A CPA without that focus would need another route, such as an active CISA 7. The exam covers AI governance and risk, AI operations and AI auditing tools and techniques. At $459 or $599 it costs more than the priced CPE courses above and, unlike them, is not described as earning credit. Our guide to the best AI certifications compares it with IAPP's governance exam and cloud-vendor options.

Will an AI certification help an accountant get hired or promoted?

The evidence is thin. Revelio Labs matched certified and non-certified workers who changed jobs in 2023 to 2025 and found certified workers slightly more likely to change role (72.5% against 68.6%) and to move up in seniority (38.9% against 33.9%). The author calls these correlations, notes that certified workers already earned more, and reports no hiring-side data. Its certifications were found by keyword and it does not isolate accountants 8. The FTC advises that no school can guarantee a job 9. Our guide on whether an AI certification is worth it goes further. For a CPA, CPE credit is the one return you can count on if the course is accepted, and a documented process you built is the clearest evidence of skill.

What we could not confirm. We did not verify any provider on NASBA's registry. AICPA and CIMA's release and bundle page disagree on the credit total, ICAEW's page gave no price or CPD hours, and Surgent's page has no NASBA sponsor statement. Other CPE providers exist that we did not review.

FAQ: questions readers ask

Is there an official AI certification for accountants?

No single official one. AICPA and CIMA sell an AI Accelerator program with CPE, ICAEW offers a GenAI Accelerator with digital badges, and ISACA's AAIA is an exam for audit-focused professionals. Most other options are CPE courses from training companies. Check who issues each and what it requires.

Which AI course for accountants gives CPE credit?

Becker's Foundations of AI for Accountants lists 5.0 NASBA-approved credits, AICPA and CIMA's AI Accelerator tiers list 9.5 to 13.5 credits each on the bundle page, and Surgent's Agentic AI series lists 10 credits. ISACA, ICAEW and Torchlane pages do not claim CPE for these programs. Confirm acceptance with your state board. We have a business connection with Torchlane.

Can an accountant learn to build AI workflows without coding?

Torchlane's AI FDE training is our top pick for that goal. You can apply without coding experience and you learn to work with code, but it carries no CPE, issues nonaccredited credentials and does not guarantee a job, promotion or pay. We have a business connection with Torchlane.

Do AI certifications raise an accountant's pay?

No certification can promise that. Revelio Labs found certified workers earned about $8,000 more after controlling for occupation and seniority, but says it is a correlation and holders may differ from non-holders, and the FTC says no school can guarantee a job.

Sources

  1. Torchlane. “AI FDE training: forward deployed AI engineering.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  2. Torchlane. “FDE training and AI certification.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  3. Becker Professional Education. “Foundations of AI for Accountants Certificate.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  4. AICPA and CIMA. “AI Accelerator Program (bundle).” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  5. AICPA and CIMA. “AICPA and CIMA Launch AI Accelerator Skills Program To Prepare Finance Leaders for an AI Enabled Future.” Published 27 Apr 2026. Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  6. Surgent CPE. “Agentic AI Certificate Series for Tax, Accounting, Audit, Assurance & Finance Professionals.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  7. ISACA. “AAIA Certification: ISACA Advanced in AI Audit.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  8. Revelio Labs. “Are AI Certifications Worth It? What the Salary Data Shows.” Published 23 Jun 2026. Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  9. US Federal Trade Commission, Consumer Advice. “Choosing a Vocational School or Certificate Program.” Published 2021-05. Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  10. NASBA. “The Registry's Role in CPE Acceptance by Boards.” Published 6 Nov 2023. Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  11. Torchlane. “AI skills assessment and credentials.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
  12. ICAEW. “ICAEW GenAI Accelerator Programme.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text

How this was researched. Written by the AI Certification Reviews editorial team from the sources listed above, each checked on the date shown. Where our facts come from.

More from AI Certification Reviews