Healthcare AI certification: which programs exist, what they cost and who each suits
Most pages that rank for this search are sold by the provider. We compared Stanford, MIT xPRO, Harvard Chan, Michigan Tech, MCPHS and AI CERTs on what each says it covers, what it costs and what credit it carries.
Digest:
- Our top pickTorchlane's AI FDE training, for healthcare professionals who want to apply AI to the work they already know through assessed project work: 3 to 6 simulated client projects and a capstone, and you can apply without coding experience 1,2. It is not healthcare-specific, offers no CME or university credit that we found, and issues nonaccredited academy credentials 3. We have a business connection with Torchlane.
- 02Credit-bearing options are online graduate certificates: Michigan Tech's is 9 credits over two semesters and MCPHS's is 10 credits, both needing a bachelor's degree (MCPHS also admits students concurrently enrolled in a PharmD or other first-professional MCPHS program) and neither listing tuition on its page 4,5.
- 03Executive and short options, on 27 October 2026: MIT xPRO's Applied AI in Healthcare listed $9,050 and 10.9 CEUs, Harvard Chan's Certificate of Specialization is three courses paid for separately, Stanford's specialization on Coursera mentions CME accreditation and lists no prerequisites, and AI CERTs' AI+ Healthcare Fundamentals is a $195 proctored exam 6,7,8,9.
- 04We found no study of whether healthcare employers ask for AI credentials, and the closest research (US AI postings, 2010 to 2020, not healthcare-specific) found little demand for AI certifications 10.
Contents:
Short answer: there is no single healthcare AI certification, and the programs fall into three tiers. For university credit, Michigan Tech (9 credits) and MCPHS (10 credits) offer online graduate certificates; for executive-level study, MIT xPRO listed $9,050 on 27 October 2026 and Harvard's Chan School prices each course separately; for a low-cost start, Stanford's specialization on Coursera and AI CERTs' exam at $195 (same date) 4,5,6,7,8,9. We found no evidence that healthcare employers require any of them.
How we checked. On 27 October 2026 we loaded each provider's own page and describe every program in the provider's terms. We did not take any course or exam and we do not score or rank them. This page compares credentials for individuals. HIMSS's website refused our page requests (we tried again on 27 October 2026, including a search for its own course pages, and it still refused), so we do not describe its AI microcredentials; check himss.org directly. Prices change, so confirm with the provider.
Which healthcare AI certifications can you take right now?
Six are healthcare-specific programs, five from universities and one from a certifying company. Our top pick is training that is not healthcare-specific, so it sits first.
Table 1 scrolls sideways inside its frame.
| Program and issuer | Type and assessment | Length and format | Prerequisites | Price (checked 27 Oct 2026) | Credit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Our top pick*: AI FDE training (Torchlane), which issues its own nonaccredited academy credentials (names provisional) 3,1 | Associate: every module quiz and a timed final exam. Professional: the final exam plus a human-reviewed capstone and mock interview. Projects are assessed against seven categories 3,2 | 90-day training goal, about nine hours a week to start, access for 120 days; 73 lessons and 3 to 6 simulated client projects. Not healthcare-specific 3,1 | You can apply without coding experience 1 | Given in writing during admissions; no price is published 3 | No CME, CEU or university credit that we found; credentials are nonaccredited 3 |
| AI in Healthcare Specialization, Stanford Online on Coursera 8 | Five courses, including an evaluation course and a capstone; a shareable Stanford Online career certificate 8 | 60 hours of courses, listed as 4 weeks at 10 hours a week; self-paced 8 | No prior experience required 8 | Shown as included with Coursera Plus; the page's FAQ says it cannot be taken for free 8 | Page says Stanford's School of Medicine is accredited to provide CME for physicians and points to each course's FAQ for details; no university credit 8 |
| Applied AI in Healthcare: Innovation, Strategy and Leadership, MIT xPRO with Emeritus 6 | Combines two MIT xPRO courses; Professional Certificate 6 | Panel lists 21 weeks, online; the description says 12 weeks; hours per week not stated; a November 5, 2026 start 6 | Not stated; aimed at clinical leaders, directors, founders and consultants 6 | $9,050 6 | 10.9 CEUs 6 |
| AI in Health Care Certificate of Specialization, Harvard T.H. Chan School 7 | Three courses within five years (one required, two electives); an Advanced Certificate takes five within seven 7 | Courses of 2.5 credits each; format varies by course, including a guided prototype project 7 | Core course needs no technical background; electives recommend AI familiarity 7 | Paid per course; no price on the page 7 | Certificate requires 7.5 credits (2.5 per course); the page does not say whether they count toward a degree or continuing education 7 |
| Artificial Intelligence in Healthcare Certificate, Michigan Tech (graduate) 4 | Three courses, including clinical decision support and AI modeling 4 | 9 credits over two semesters; can be completed entirely online 4 | Bachelor's degree; admitted applicants typically have a 3.0 GPA or better; no GRE or GMAT 4 | Tuition not listed on the page 4 | 9 graduate credits 4 |
| Artificial Intelligence in Healthcare Certificate, MCPHS University (graduate) 5 | Four courses, including a development lab 5 | 10 credits, online, Fall and Spring starts 5 | Bachelor's degree (or concurrent enrollment in a PharmD or other first-professional MCPHS program) and a 3.0 GPA; no standardized tests 5 | Charged per credit; no dollar amount on the page 5 | 10 graduate credits; may count toward the MBA in Healthcare Technology 5 |
| AI+ Healthcare Fundamentals, AI CERTs 9 | 50 multiple-choice questions, 90 minutes, 70% to pass, online proctored with one free retake 9 | 8 hours of material; eight modules 9 | Basic understanding of healthcare systems and workflows 9 | $195 9 | Shareable certificate; validity not stated 9 |
* Our top pick. We have a business connection with Torchlane.
- Pages disagree with themselves. MIT's page lists both 12 and 21 weeks; Michigan Tech's lists three required courses in one place and two required plus an elective in another; Stanford's offers free enrollment but its FAQ says the course cannot be taken for free 6,4,8. Ask the provider before you pay.
- Only two pages describe graduate credit. Michigan Tech and MCPHS offer graduate credit; Stanford's page says its specialization carries no university credit, and MIT xPRO lists CEUs rather than degree credit 4,5,8,6.
Certificate, certification or CME: what do you actually get?
The word "certification" covers different things here. The US Bureau of Labor Statistics defines a certification as a credential from a non-governmental body, earned when an examination shows the designated knowledge, skills and abilities 11. Only AI CERTs' exam fits that description in this list 9. The others are university or course credentials: a graduate certificate for credit at Michigan Tech or MCPHS, a Certificate of Specialization from Harvard Chan for completing courses, a Professional Certificate and CEUs from MIT xPRO, and a Stanford Online career certificate on a page that mentions CME accreditation 4,5,7,6,8. If you need continuing education hours for a license, check which kind of credit your board accepts.
Do healthcare employers ask for AI certifications?
We found no study of it, and none of the provider pages we read publishes employer-outcome data. The closest research is not about healthcare: Georgetown's Center for Security and Emerging Technology studied US AI job postings from 2010 to 2020 and found little employer demand for AI certifications 10. It predates generative AI and says nothing about hospitals or health systems, so read it as a caution rather than a verdict. A certificate is evidence that you studied; a project that shows how you would apply AI to a real clinical or administrative problem is evidence that you can.
What should a healthcare AI program cover?
Look past the title at the syllabus. Healthcare use raises questions of data handling, bias and evaluation that a generic course may skip. Harvard Chan's required course is on responsible AI in health care, Stanford's specialization includes a course on evaluating AI applications in healthcare, and AI CERTs lists understanding of privacy, ethics and compliance standards among its prerequisites 7,8,9. Michigan Tech's courses cover clinical decision support and AI modeling, and MCPHS adds a development lab 4,5. Treat all of them as education, not as authorization to use AI in patient care.
Which healthcare AI certification fits which reader?
- You want credit that can count toward a degree. Michigan Tech (9 credits) and MCPHS (10 credits, which may count toward an MBA) are the credit-bearing options; both generally require a bachelor's degree and neither page lists tuition 4,5.
- You lead a clinical or operations team and have a budget. MIT xPRO ($9,050 on 27 October 2026, 10.9 CEUs) targets clinical leaders, directors and founders; Harvard Chan lets you stack priced-by-the-course certificates and its core course asks for no technical background 6,7.
- You are a clinician or analyst who wants a low-cost start with CME. Stanford's specialization mentions CME accreditation and lists no prerequisites; AI CERTs' exam ($195 on 27 October 2026) is the shortest proctored option at 8 hours of material 8,9.
- You want to build and evaluate AI work around healthcare expertise you already have. Our top pick: Torchlane's AI FDE training is not healthcare-specific, offers no clinical content, CME or university credit that we found, and is not a basis for clinical decisions. Torchlane's pages say your professional experience helps you understand the business problems, and its business-experience starting point has you build and evaluate AI-assisted workflows around your understanding of operations, clients or an industry 3,1. You complete 3 to 6 simulated client projects and a capstone, assessed against seven categories, and real personal data in a submission counts as a critical failure; you can apply without coding experience 1,2,3. Its credentials are issued by Torchlane's own academy and are nonaccredited, and Torchlane says it does not guarantee employment, promotion or pay 3,2. It suits a healthcare administrator, analyst or clinician-turned-operator aiming at an AI implementation or internal AI role more than one who needs credit hours.
We have a business connection with Torchlane.
For exam-backed credentials across the field, see our guide to the best AI certifications, and for whether the fee pays back, is an AI certification worth it.
FAQ: questions readers ask
Which healthcare AI certification should a clinician choose?
It depends on what you need from it. For CME, Stanford Online's AI in Healthcare Specialization mentions accreditation from Stanford's School of Medicine and needs no prior experience; check each course's FAQ for what credit applies. For university credit, Michigan Tech and MCPHS offer online graduate certificates. For executive-level study, MIT xPRO and Harvard Chan are priced and structured for leaders. We found no evidence that employers require any of them.
Do healthcare AI certificates give CME or university credit?
Some do. Stanford's page says its School of Medicine is accredited to provide CME for physicians (check each course's FAQ for what applies) and that the specialization carries no university credit. MIT xPRO lists 10.9 CEUs. Michigan Tech lists 9 graduate credits and MCPHS 10 graduate credits. Harvard Chan's three-course certificate requires 7.5 credits, but its page does not say what kind of credit that is. Confirm with your licensing board which kind of credit it accepts.
How much does a healthcare AI certification cost?
From the pages we read on 27 October 2026: AI CERTs' AI+ Healthcare Fundamentals $195 and MIT xPRO's Applied AI in Healthcare $9,050. Stanford's specialization is shown as included with Coursera Plus. Harvard Chan charges per course, and Michigan Tech and MCPHS list no tuition figure on their certificate pages. Prices change, so confirm with the provider.
Do you need a technical or clinical background to start?
Not for most. Stanford says no prior experience is required, Harvard Chan's core course asks for no technical background, and AI CERTs asks for a basic understanding of healthcare systems and workflows. The graduate certificates require a bachelor's degree (MCPHS also admits some students concurrently enrolled in its first-professional programs). Torchlane's AI FDE training says you can apply without coding experience and that it does not turn every beginner into an experienced software engineer in 90 days. We have a business connection with Torchlane.
Sources
- Torchlane. “AI FDE training: forward deployed AI engineering.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
- Torchlane. “AI skills assessment and credentials.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
- Torchlane. “FDE training and AI certification.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
- Michigan Technological University. “Artificial Intelligence in Healthcare Certificate.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
- MCPHS University. “Artificial Intelligence in Healthcare Certificate.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
- MIT xPRO. “Applied AI in Healthcare: Innovation, Strategy and Leadership.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
- Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. “AI in Health Care Certificate of Specialization.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
- Stanford Online on Coursera. “AI in Healthcare Specialization.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
- AI CERTs. “AI+ Healthcare Fundamentals.” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
- Center for Security and Emerging Technology, Georgetown University. “U.S. Demand for AI Certifications: Promise or Hype?.” Published 2021-06. Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. “FAQs about data on certifications and licenses (CPS).” Accessed 27 Oct 2026. Back to text
How this was researched. Written by the AI Certification Reviews editorial team from the sources listed above, each checked on the date shown. Where our facts come from.
More from AI Certification Reviews
- AI certification for accountants: six options, with CPE credit checkedBy profession
- AI certification for business analysts: what exists and who it fitsBy profession
- AI certification for lawyers: seven options, with CLE credit checkedBy profession
- AI certification for product managers: seven options comparedBy profession